Saturday, June 26, 2010

2010 Christy Award Winners!

The 2010 Christy Awards presentation was held Saturday evening, June 26, 2010, at the Renaissance St. Louis Grand in advance of the International Christian Retail Show. The dessert reception featured a keynote address entitled “Be That Well” by best-selling author and
entrepreneur Lisa Samson and was emceed by editor Lonnie Hull DuPont, Baker Publishing Group. To involve Christian fiction fans not able to attend the event in person, a liveblog of the event was provided online, and an archive of the event can be accessed online at

The Christy Awards honor the best in Christian fiction in nine categories. The Christy Awards
Advisory Board is pleased to announce the following winners of the 2010 Christy Awards.

Contemporary Romance
Breach of Trust
by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale House Publishers)

Read our interview with DiAnn Mills

Contemporary Series, Sequels & Novellas
Who Do I Talk To? by Neta Jackson (Thomas Nelson)

Read our review.
Read our interview with Neta.

Contemporary Standalone
The Passion of Mary-Margaret by Lisa Samson (Thomas Nelson)

Read our review

First Novel
Fireflies in December by Jennifer Erin Valent (Tyndale House Publishers)

Read our review
Read our interview with Jennifer

Though Waters Roar
by Lynn Austin (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

Historical Romance
The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

Lost Mission by Athol Dickson (Howard Books: a Division of Simon & Schuster)

Read our review

By Darkness Hid by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press)

Read our review

Young Adult
North! or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson (WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group)

Read our review
Read our interview with Andrew

The Christy Awards are proud to honor both Catherine Marshall and her novel through the annual presentation of the Christy Awards, which recognize novels of excellence. The Christy Awards were established in 1999 to nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishing of fiction written from a Christian worldview; to bring a new awareness of the breadth and depth of fiction choices available, helping to broaden the readership; and, to provide an opportunity to recognize novelists whose work may not have reached bestseller status.


Click here to read the full list of nominees.

And here's a pdf of all the winners with a summary of each book.

Visit the Christy Awards website.


Peg Brantley said...

Thanks for posting this, C.J.

Gail Gaymer Martin said...

I was there tonight and so thrilled to see so many good friends honored for their outstandings books. This honor goes to both the winners and those who were among the others nominated. Thrilled to be there and enjoy the night.

Gail Gaymer Martin

Heather Ivester said...

Thanks for posting this CJ! I'm going to link back to you here. I'm so thrilled to see Andrew Peterson's book as a winner. I enjoy reading those Peterson brothers over at The Rabbit Room blog.

Now we've got to get a copy of North! Or Be Eaten for our kids. It must be a great book! ;)

Jeanette Levellie said...

Thanks for keeping us apprised. Congratulations to the winners on this great honor!